do extra turns stack,

By ososober, in Talisman Rules Questions

Had this sitiuation last game

space was middle region space above sential, had(green dragon card) spell caller stranger, the spell caller will remain here for remainder of game, you may may take the top spell from the discard pile ifyour Craft allows,

also on this space , Warlock's apprentice, Stranger, if you do not have a Warlock Quest, you may accept one. If you already have a warlocks quest you may take another turn after this one.

also on this space green dragon card, sprite dragon stranger, draw 4 spells and place them face up when revealed, once per visit you may take a spell of your choice from this card (temporal warp was one of the drawn spells)

oasis space middle region had adventure card madcap stranger , the madcap will remain here for rest of the game, roll 1 die and chage to that alignment. if you change into the same alignment you may take another turn.

and last card on this space was ido, pray with the same results as temple.

Dragon rider, may add three to dice roll, for movement

riding horse, may use two dice for movement

distance between spaces is either 7 one direction or 9 other direction

first turn cast temporal vortex(2 sucsessive turns), land on hills visit warlocks apprentice, get another turn(now 3), visit spell caller, get temporal vortex back (2 turns spare)

turn 2 (1 spare turn remaining) at start of turn cast temporal vortx, (3 spare turns remaining) roll 6 add 1 to movement land oasis, visit madcap, roll 3 change to neutral with druid staff, gain anouther turn (now 4) pray at idol,

turn 3 (3 spare) roll 8 use +1 to make 9, land on hills, visit green scale kill draqon, visit spell caller, get temporal vortex, visit warlocks apprentise get free turn 4 spare

turn 4 (3spare) cast temporal vortex, (5 spare), ect you get the picture, had about 30 turns before we called the game over as it was possible to continue on indefinitly

In playing the game, I do not believe you can "bank" extra turns. In the same way I have read you can not lose multiple turns. But I always read differently in the previous edition so always considered thie one the same. I have also seen a few times where players get multiple turns in a row but one thing I can add from the rulebook, page 15:

"No character, including the Druid, may change Alignment more than once in any turn."
But then, what is a turn? In the rulebook it states a turn is:
"More specifically, each player’s turn consists of two parts, in
this order:
1. Movement – The player rolls a die and moves his character that number of spaces around the board.
2. Encounters – Once a character has finished his move, he must encounter either the space or a character in the space
where he lands.
At the end of a character’s turn, play passes clockwise to the player to the left."
So I don't know why it is stated that no one can change alignments more than once in a turn unless they mean a players "round" of turns. If it is meant an entire players round of turns, this would nullify the extra turn from the madcap which I think would be plausible.
But then in the FAQ, we do have situations where turns DO stack:
"Academy
Q: If a character encounters the Academy, can he pay 6 gold
and miss 2 turns to gain 1 Strength and 1 Craft?
A: Yes.
Chivalric Knight
Q: If the Chivalric Knight aids two characters during the
same round, does he must miss 2 turns or only 1 turn?
A: 2 turns."
I am looking forward to some wise insight on this question because it is a good one and probably one that needs to be house-ruled, or at least ruled on by the wise gaming authority here.
IMHO, this is an oversight in the rules that needs to be addressed in an FAQ.... An FAQ that has a long overdue list growing....
Edited by JediKnightAmoeba

One thing that was missed that would have cut down the number of extra turns is some of the text on the Spell Caller:

You cannot cast the Spell during the same round that you took it from the discard pile.

The key being the "same round" restriction. The Dragon Rider in this situation would not have been able to cast the Temporal Warp a 2nd time during his stretch of turns until all other players had taken a turn and another Round had begun. This doesn't help with bouncing between the Warlock's Apprentice and Madcap, which is legal as far as I know.

Not sure the Dragon Rider ability to add up to 3 to movement rolls can combine with the Riding Horse rolling 2 dice. Technically speaking the Dragon Rider ability mentions After you roll the die for your move , which leads me to believe the naming of a singular die activating the ability means it cannot be used when rolling more than 1 die for movement. Rather strict rules-lawyer interpretation and certainly debatable, but it would help prevent the combination from being too overpowered and certainly makes more sense since you can't ride a horse and dragon at the same time.

yeah i'm sure the Dragon rider cant add upto 3 to the ridding horse its 2 dice or 1 dice add upto 3.

With the madcap I'm sure you cant change algniment to the algniment you just rolled just to get a extra turn.. You have to change alignment then roll if its not the same algnment tough! no extra turn.. eg you can change algniment anytime in your turn but not inbetween effects unless it says you can eg counter spell, etc etc.

Same with alchemist and the city.. buy magic item turn it to gold buy another one turn it to gold etc etc etc.. The game gets locked with the alchemist getting all the gold and most of the magic items instead its turn items into gold, buy items, items into gold...end.. You cant then buy more items until you visit again.

eg its not "you may buy items until the end of your turn", same with madcap its not "gain a turn if at the end of your turn you have the same algnment as the one you rolled".

Well said Uvatha!