Event played without triggering response

By Mndela, in Rules questions & answers

Can you do it? To play an event card but without triggering his response (a response you can choose if it triggers or not -for example, put the 2 progress tokens by Legolas' attack-): there are some examples:

M1554.png

Renewed Friendship, Gondorian Discipline, Strength of Will, ...

PD: It could be a good idea to discard cards from hand when you are playing in Fords of Isern :)

That is an interesting question! I'd have to look over the rules/FAQ, but it seems that playing the card from your hand is the same as triggering the response. In other words, no. You can't play the Event card without using its response. I could be wrong, of course.

That is an interesting question! I'd have to look over the rules/FAQ, but it seems that playing the card from your hand is the same as triggering the response. In other words, no. You can't play the Event card without using its response. I could be wrong, of course.

Yes sure. Response describe the situation when it can be play. If no situation you cannot play a response…..

Err, I'm not so sure you guys.

Think "response" on a card means you can choose to active it.

I know it works like that on cards that stay in play like Ithillien Archer.

But on events? I'd figure it works the same way.

"Forced" on a card means you have to do it, because it is, well...forced.

So I'd say it's legal play. But that's me...

Anyone else any thoughts on this?

Edited by Noccus

Responses are always optional, and can be triggered by their controller in response to (i.e. immediately after) a specified game occurrence. In order to trigger a response on a hero , ally , or attachment card, the card on which the response is printed must be in play, unless the response specifies that it can be triggered from an out of play state. Event cards with " Response:" effects are responses that are played from a players hand.

Since some event cards are "responses" that are played from a "players hand", once it is put into play its effect must trigger. This is because you "optionally" chose to trigger it the moment the event card was "put into play".

Good question.

Red=Edits

Edited by tacomen253

Your response actually made me look it up, triggering this response of mine.

And in response, I say you are correct sir!

You would have to be able to do the response of a card to even play it and thus discard it otherwise we could just discard cards whenever we wanted and these new quests would have a lot less of a challenge. Just as you can't discard multiple copies of unique cards and they just sit in your hand.