I had a situation come up with Join Me in a game tonight that I am hoping to get a consensus opinion about how this card should work.
Background:
For reference, Join Me is an event card that states:
"Play only during your deployment phase.
Action : Take control of a target non-unique Character unit."
LS player has a 2 cost Character unit in play. DS player plays Join Me and takes the unit over to his side of the board.
I believe that it has already been established in other forum threads that the following things take place when the LS card moves over to the dark side:
1) The LS player removes any Force cards and enhancements attached to LS unit. Force card returns to LS player's pool of available Force cards. Enhancements return to LS player's discard pile.
2) Any damage or focus tokens currently on the unit move with the unit over to the DS.
Am I correct in this assumption? I was unable to find the thread where I thought I had read this previously, and want to establish a baseline for this question.
Situation:
So, after Join Me is played, the DS player controls the unit, according to the text on the card. Now, the LS player plays Swindled.
For reference, Swindled states:
" Action : Return a target unit with printed cost 2 or lower to its owner's hand"
Question 1:
If the unit is Swindled, does it go to the DS player's hand (since DS "controls" the unit) or does it go back to the LS player's hand (since LS player was original "owner")?
If the unit can be Swindled into DS player's hand, the DS player can only deploy that unit if he has a resource match. (Conditional to answer of Q1.)
Question 2:
When the LS unit that was the original target of Join Me is eventually destroyed, does the unit return to the LS player's discard pile since he was the original "owner", or the DS player's discard pile, since he "controls" the unit?
Per page 23 of rules book:
"When a unit is destroyed, it is placed faceup on top of its owner's discard pile."
Any thoughts or comments would be greatly appreciated!
Pete