I Should know this but . . .

By dizpatcher, in Rules questions & answers

If you use Beravor, or lets say, Daughter of Nimrodel to defend, do you still receive their action bonus, such as draw 2 cards, or heal 2 damage?

Actions are always optional, and can be triggered by their controller during any action window in the game sequence. Some action triggers are preceded by a specific phase of the game. This type of trigger means that the following action can only be triggered during the specified phase.

Actions are only limited by whether or not a player can pay the cost of the action, or by built in limitations on the card itself, such as "...limit once per round", or "Action: Exhaust..."

Clear as mud? No you can not specifically use Beravor's, or Daughters of the Nimrodel actions after you defend or attack with them because their abilities require them to "ready". Defending and attacking will "exhaust" your characters. Although you can still use character abilities that do not require you to exhaust them, even after you attack or defend with them. Such as the hero Glorfindel's action.

You're right! Clear as mud. Let me state this a different way, even though the answer is going to be painful.

So taking your example of Glorfindel, If he is in the process of declaring as a defender, and in that process exhausts himself, then he can not at the same time, use his action to heal 1 damage to any character.

Oh, wait. I see, I think, is it because he is paying a cost for the action at that time?

Thanx in advance.

Glorfindel can still use his heal action immediately after he declares as a defender, before the enemy attack progresses to the reveal shadow or deal damage steps.

Beravor would not be able to do that, unless having unexhausted herself, because part of the trigger for her ability requires her to exhaust and you cannot use one exhausting event to pay for more than one action.

Thanx everyone for clearing that up. I really appreciate it. All we newbies do.

Anytime. Let us know if you ever have any other questions! :)