Shadow cards

By BigBillyBaratheon85, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Ok I understand 2 gold to Marshall a card into shadows the only thing I wanna clear up Is when bringing a card out of the shadows do you have to pay another 2 plus the character cost or just the character cost?

Just the cost on the card.

When a card is brought out of Shadows
in this manner, the non-Shadows portion of its gold cost (the number
printed after the “s” in the card’s cost), as well as any applicable gold
penalties, is paid, or the card cannot come out of Shadows.

Just the cost on the card.

Well, be careful how you phrase this:

The "cost" of the card is made up of the "Shadows" portion of the card and the "non-Shadows" portion of the card.

The "Shadows" potion, denoted by the letter "s," is the same for all cards, i.e., 2 gold.

The "non-Shadows" portion is different for every Shadows card and is denoted by the number after the letter "s."

When you bring a card out of Shadows, you only pay the "non-Shadows" portion of the card, as specified in the rule. But card effects and anything that refers to the "cost" of card always looks at the total of both portions for a Shadows card.

Oh ok thanks