This might be more of a general question but I ran in to this with a couple of my players on Saturday.
As I understand it, one Advantage can allow the current player to pass one Boost die to the next player in turn order. Two Advantage can allow the current player to pass one Boost die to any player. Advantage can also do other stuff, as listed in the rule book and by PC/GM agreement. Pretty straight forward.
So what happens when a player rolls five Advantage? Can he pass five Boost dice to the next player? Two Boost dice to any player and one Boost die to the next player? My understanding was that:
- spending enough Advantage doesn't "double up" an effect. In this instance you can pass a die to the next player but you can't pass two or more dice to the next player. And...
- Advantage can be used used to trigger multiple effects, so long as they're not the same effect. For example, if a net Success and six Advantage are rolled, a player could pass one Boost to the next player, one Boost to any other player, and trigger a Critical on a blaster.
My players thought you could send five Boost dice to the next player if they had enough Advantage so they were throwing down fist fulls of blue dice. That just seemed weird to me but I couldn't find a passage to cite to back my case.
Thoughts? Rulings?