A few minor questions

By Mig el Pig, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

1) Can kneeling characters use their abilities (like paying 4 gold for veserion, or returning viserys to your hand)

2) If a card like Kingrobert's chambers is played as an attachment to your house card does it count as a location, an attachement or as both.

(how does it interact with fleeing to the wall, support of the kingdom and cards that discard attachments.)

3) Do you have to win against the opponent that has Martial law attached to one of his holdings to be able to use it response?

1) yup, unless the ability says kneel to do... or pay 4 gold and kneel to do... you don't have to kneel.

2) It counts as what it was played as. So, when you attach it to your house card it is an attachment. While it is an attachment it is not a location and does not interact with Fleeing to the Wall or Support of the kingdom,though it can be discarded by any discard attachment affects or anything else that interacts with attachments.

3) Nope.

In general, if a condition is not written on a card, it does not need to be met in order to trigger the effect. So since Viserion doesn't say he HAS to be standing, you can use his effect while he is knelt. Or since Martial Law does not say the power challenge you win by 4 HAS to be against the person controlling the location, you can use it with no matter who you beat in a Melee game.

Be careful, though. The flip side of this is that if a card does not SAY you can do something, don't assume you can. For example, the location Field Spikes makes a player choose between removing a character from a challenge or killing it after the challenge resolves. I've seen people choose to remove the character from the challenge and try to STAND it when doing so (after all, it isn't participating anymore, right?). But since the card doesn't say to stand the character when it is removed, it stays knelt.

Thanks, it's a notion I carried over from other cardgames where being tapped/bowed/kneeling/.. makes you unable to perform the action.

Some additonal questions.

1)A character has a "devious intentions" and a "Milk of the poppy" attached. Does he retain the intrigue icon and the +1str for each power and lose the infamy and stealth?

2)Epic battles: What exactly is normal claim( the claim of the plot card you played or?) and am I correct that you can't play actions that could only be played during challenge phase?

3)What happens when a character and a "Dragon bite" opposes a dragon?

3A)Does he die immediatly or does his str remain for determing who won the challenge?

3B)If the character has a save attached is he only killed once or repeatedly?

4) If a str 2 char with a save is targetted with "Flame kissed" he can save but he dies anyway right?

Mig el Pig said:

1)A character has a "devious intentions" and a "Milk of the poppy" attached. Does he retain the intrigue icon and the +1str for each power and lose the infamy and stealth?

Milk of the Poppy only blanks the printed text box of the attached character. Abilities gained through other cards are not blanked out and lost.

Mig el Pig said:

2)Epic battles: What exactly is normal claim( the claim of the plot card you played or?) and am I correct that you can't play actions that could only be played during challenge phase?

"Normal claim" is the unmodified, rules-defined result of the challenge. Note that your plot card doesn't actually determine what the challenge result is, only the "claim number" referenced by the rules defining the results of each type of challenge. The stipulation about "normal claim" is really there to stop you from modifying claim with old cards from the CCG.

Be careful about that "can't play actions" idea. You are correct that you cannot use any " Challenges: " effects because its the Epic Phase. So you can't use " Challenges: " effects during the Epic Phase any more than you can use " Dominance: " effects during the Challenge Phase. However, " Any Phase: " and appropriate " Response: " effects are still fair game.

Mig el Pig said:

3)What happens when a character and a "Dragon bite" opposes a dragon?

3A)Does he die immediatly or does his str remain for determing who won the challenge?

3B)If the character has a save attached is he only killed once or repeatedly?

Because Dragon Bite specifies the character is killed "any time it is participating" with a Dragon, you are dealing with a constant effect. That means it is killed instantly any time its play restriction is met. So as soon as you declare it as a defender, it dies (passively). It would never make it to challenge resolution, and thus it is not counted when determining who wins or if the challenge is opposed. (You must have a character in the challenge and count a challenge STR of at least 1 in order to oppose a challenge.)

Now, since the "kill if participating in a challenge with a Dragon" is a constant effect, declaring it as a defender (or having a Dragon declared as a defender against it) creates what is known as a "terminal effect." That means that saving the character doesn't change the passive or constant conditions that are killing it. By definition, you cannot even try to save a character from a terminal effect unless the save would also remove it from the terminal state. So a duplicate or some other save effect (like, say, Bodyguard) cannot even be triggered for the "Dragon Bite" character unless it somehow also removes either the character or the Dragon from the challenge, thus ending the "kill if participating in a challenge with a Dragon" terminal effect.

Mig el Pig said:

4) If a str 2 char with a save is targetted with "Flame kissed" he can save but he dies anyway right?

This is another terminal effect. If a 2-STR character has "Flame Kissed" attached, you are not allowed to even try a save unless it also removes the character from the "dies at 0" terminal state. So you are not able to use any save on the Flame-Kissed character unless the save simultaneously raises its STR, removes the attachment, puts another attachment on the character (thereby "turning off" Flame-Kissed) or removes it from play (like Viserys Targaryen's save does). The "simultaneously" thing is really important. The save has to do both save the character and remove it from the terminal state at the same time - you can't string together a combo of two or three effects to do it.

thanks alot, another minor question. (again due to previous experiences with card games)

Is it possible to use an ability more then once each turn. (unless their is a stated limit like joffrey his power claiming)

Mig el Pig said:

Is it possible to use an ability more then once each turn. (unless their is a stated limit like joffrey his power claiming)

In general yes. However there are other rules/circumstances which sometimes hinder you to trigger an ability more than once a turn or a round. E.g. you can´t use one card to tigger the same response twice on the same action- the problem often occured with Prince´s loyalist.

Are there any special card examples you are referring to?

Rhaegal for example.

Mig el Pig said:

Rhaegal for example.

You can trigger his ability as often as you like- there´s no special point of initiation so you are free to use his ability as long as you can pay the gold.

It would be different if his ability would have been bound to a special point of initiation, such as "response: After Rhaegal comes into play pay 1 gold to search your deck for a copy of Rhaegal."