I was playing today and someone told me that at a Regional last year, they were told that game mechanics (i.e. Death Star Dial and such) and Forced Reactions don't occur if both players miss that step. Is this true?
To me this is wrong. Obviously if a Forced Reaction was missed and it is too late to fix I'm not sure what can be done about it. But, if the Dark Side player forgets to move the Death Star Dial, according to the rules, it can't be fixed? I don't know of any players who wouldn't let them fix it, but apparently there are somewhere. I understand, with the Death Star Dial in particular, it is the DS players responsibility to move it, but the opposing player (LS in this case) shouldn't benefit from keeping silent if a Forced reaction/or other key gameplay effect is supposed to take place. That pretty much makes it an Opponents Reaction and not a Forced Reaction.