Tearing and Multiple D10 weapons

By Santiago, in Dark Heresy

Hi,

How do you guy treat the Tearing Special on Multiple d10 weapons such as the Heavy Bolter or the Assault Cannon or Emperor forbid a Moritat Assassin with a Greatsword?

The way I handle it is kind of 7th Sea-ish... 3K2

You roll 3 dice and keep the best 2...

Example:
Callidia, an experienced Moritat picks up a two handed sword on a feudal world, with ease she hits the knight.
Now she rolls 3d10 and rolls a 3, a 7 and a 9, she discards the 3 and does 18+SB rending damage.

And how do you handle the rare occasion multiple 10's are rolled on damage, or again, Emperor forbid, three 10's, do they all continue and take the best results?

Example:
Callidia again strikes the knight with succes, she rolls three 10's for damage, she confirms the Fury and rolls a 10, a 10 and a 9. She discards the 9 and rolls again and rolls a 8 and a 6.
Now the knight is realy screwed: 10+10+8+6+SB

everybody agree?

That's how I intend on playing it.

This is how we handle it:

A heavy bolter does 2d10 damage, but since it has the Tearing trait you roll 4d10, but here's the thing: each d10 has its Tearing counterpart and you can only pick the best of those two. Example:

I hit with a heavy bolter and roll damage, I start by rolling two d10s and they come up as 6 and 5, then I roll two more, which comes up as 1 and 3. The final damage is represented by the highest number from each set, not the two highest of all four, so the damage becomes 6 + 3 = 9.

Multiple 10s in one damage roll is handled just like a single 10. Even if you hit with an assault cannon and, after rolling all six d10s, you end up with 3 10s, the you only test BS once and if you succeed you'll receive one additional d10, which is not subject to the Tearing trait.

I'm a tad lost by the example...maybe I've just had too long a day at work.

Say you hit twice with a Bolter (1d10+5 tearing damage), would you not just roll 4 dice (2 for each hit) and apply the best two rolls?

Actually, I agree with xenobiotica. What I said is flawed.

well errata 2.0 has

The entry for Tearing on page 129 should read:
“Tearing weapons are vicious devices, often using
multitudes of fast-moving jagged teeth or fragmented
or explosive ammunition to rip into flesh and bone.
These weapons roll one extra die for damage, and the
lowest result is discarded.”

in case of the heavy bolter above id roll 3d10 and discard lowest

xenobiotica said:

This is how we handle it:

A heavy bolter does 2d10 damage, but since it has the Tearing trait you roll 4d10, but here's the thing: each d10 has its Tearing counterpart and you can only pick the best of those two. Example:

I hit with a heavy bolter and roll damage, I start by rolling two d10s and they come up as 6 and 5, then I roll two more, which comes up as 1 and 3. The final damage is represented by the highest number from each set, not the two highest of all four, so the damage becomes 6 + 3 = 9.

Multiple 10s in one damage roll is handled just like a single 10. Even if you hit with an assault cannon and, after rolling all six d10s, you end up with 3 10s, the you only test BS once and if you succeed you'll receive one additional d10, which is not subject to the Tearing trait.

This is how it should be IMO.

I thought I had read the entire errata, must have missed or maybe just forgotten that part. Fortunately I don't think we've dealt with many tearing weapons that uses more than one d10 damage. Thanks for the clarification Malkith. I'll have to take this to my group and see how we'll deal with it.

And if even an assault cannon would only get one additional d10 then the d10 you'd get from righteous fury would definately not be subject to the tearing rule.

xenobiotica said:

I thought I had read the entire errata, must have missed or maybe just forgotten that part. Fortunately I don't think we've dealt with many tearing weapons that uses more than one d10 damage. Thanks for the clarification Malkith. I'll have to take this to my group and see how we'll deal with it.

And if even an assault cannon would only get one additional d10 then the d10 you'd get from righteous fury would definately not be subject to the tearing rule.

Right, but irrespective of tearing if on a weapon that does say 3d10 base damage, if your roll 10 on 2 separate dice, then test sucessfully for righteous fury, is it still only BS test and/or only 1 extra die 1d10 for damage from RF.

If so then as # of base damage dice increases then occurance of RF increases but the camparative value/usefulness of RF decreases. (i.e. an extra 1d10 for RF makes a big difference when shooting a lasgun as it nearly doubles the damage, but an extra 1d10 when firing a lascannon is only a roughly 17% increase over normal output)

xenobiotica said:

I thought I had read the entire errata, must have missed or maybe just forgotten that part. Fortunately I don't think we've dealt with many tearing weapons that uses more than one d10 damage. Thanks for the clarification Malkith. I'll have to take this to my group and see how we'll deal with it.

And if even an assault cannon would only get one additional d10 then the d10 you'd get from righteous fury would definately not be subject to the tearing rule.

xenobiotica said:

I thought I had read the entire errata, must have missed or maybe just forgotten that part. Fortunately I don't think we've dealt with many tearing weapons that uses more than one d10 damage. Thanks for the clarification Malkith. I'll have to take this to my group and see how we'll deal with it.

And if even an assault cannon would only get one additional d10 then the d10 you'd get from righteous fury would definately not be subject to the tearing rule.



But the extra d10 from Tearing most definately would be subject to Rightious Fury...

DocIII said:

Right, but irrespective of tearing if on a weapon that does say 3d10 base damage, if your roll 10 on 2 separate dice, then test sucessfully for righteous fury, is it still only BS test and/or only 1 extra die 1d10 for damage from RF.

If so then as # of base damage dice increases then occurance of RF increases but the camparative value/usefulness of RF decreases. (i.e. an extra 1d10 for RF makes a big difference when shooting a lasgun as it nearly doubles the damage, but an extra 1d10 when firing a lascannon is only a roughly 17% increase over normal output)

Yes, yes it does. But I find that makes a rather good balance anyway. The wording isn't exactly clear as how the rule is meant to work, we've simply chosen one interpretation over another.

And Santiago: indeed, it most definately would.

from france

even if it can create a lot of damages i agree with santiago rigteous fury should apply anyway. as for the balanced of the game this kind of evenement happens very few times so in a game it can be a probleme but not for a campaign. it can even save a team especially when your psyker bug so much that a warp cretaure appears. belive me a t this moment you want to count rigtheius fury, tearing and multiple damage wweapon.

now if you still fear this cumulation of power simply allow it for desperate situation.