Clarification on some situations

By Ascolta, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Hey guys, was playing last night with one of my friends and we were both unsure on some rules/situations while playing, if you could give us some pointers that would be great! So...

  • Situation: A player is currently using the plot card 'Noose and Swordpoint - Characters with STR 2 or lower cannot stand during the standing phase.' This same player uses the attachment 'Poisoned Wine - Attached character gets -2 STR' on his opponents card 'Tywin Lannister (STR 4) - At the beginning of the marshalling phase, take 2 gold from the treasury and place it on Tywin Lanister' Tywin Lannister, now with 2 STR is unable to stand during the standing phase. Would he however still gain 2 gold during marshalling even though the card is kneeling?

  • If you summon a location during the marshalling phase that yields gold, do you get the gold right away? Or would this benefit take effect the next round? This question ties in with the above also - When summoning Tywin Lannister, would he gain 2 gold from the treasury right away?

  • Situation: A player plays the plot card 'Wildfire Assault - When revealed, each player chooses up to 3 of his or her characters. All characters not chosen are killed (Cannot be saved.)' A player chooses 3 characters to save, however has a 4th character with the 'Bodyguard' attachment. 'Bodyguard - Response: Discard Bodyguard from play (Cannot be saved) to save attached character from being killed or discarded from play.' Is this 4th character then saved?

Also is there a limit to the amount of cards you can have in the field at once?

Sorry if these are noob questions :o

Cheers guys!

There is no limit to the number of cards you can have on the field at one time.

#1 - Tywin's effect does not say he has to be standing at the beginning if the Marshaling phase, so he works even when he's kneeling.

#2 - Cards with gold bonuses modify your gold count. You only count gold and take coins from the treasury once during the Marshaling phase. If a card with a gold bonus comes into play AFTER that time, you don't get to go backwards and make up the difference. You have to wait until the next time you count gold. Similarly, there is only one "beginning" of the Marshaling phase each round. If Tywin misses it, he has to wait until it comes around again.

#3 - You're not quite thinking of Wildfire right. When it is revealed, you choose 3 characters that LIVE. Those three characters are never killed, so they don't need to be saved. All the other, unchosen characters die. So the "are killed, cannot be saved" effect applies to all the characters not chosen. Because the "cannot be saved" is absolute, a save effect like Bodyguard is useless against the plot for a character who is not chosen.

Edited by ktom