Rules questions regarding pilots

By Tanan, in Battlestar Galactica

Hi!

1. What happens to a Viper, if its pilot reveals himself as a Cylon?

2. Is Lee Adama's "Alert Viper Pilot" ability triggered during the set-up phase of the Cylon Attack Crisis cards (assuming that Vipers are deployed during set-up)?

3. If the answer to question 2 is yes, can Adama play XO to another character, nuke the (just spawned) basestar or reveal himself as a Cylon?

4. Is the following XO resolved correctly:

Preconditions:

- The president is in the "Command" location. The president has the "Presidental Pardon" quorum card.

- Lee Adana is in the "Brig".

- It's Lee Adama's turn.

Action phase:

- Lee Adama plays XO to the president (take 2 actions).

- The president uses "Presidental Pardon" quorum card to free Adama from the "Brig".

- The president activates the "Command" location and places a Viper in a space are from the "Reserves". Lee Adama chooses to pilot it and gains 1 action.

- Lee Adama uses his one-time "CAG - Action" and activates an unmanned Viper six times.

- The president activates an unmanned viper.

1. The Pilot goes to the Cylon Ship. No official word on what happens to the Viper that I am aware of, but I would put it back in the Reserves (instead of leaving it unmanned).

2. Yes. Anytime a Viper is placed in Space, he can jump in it.

3. Sure. he is granted 1 additional action after he jumps in the Viper.

4. It sounds like it works.

Yes, #4 works just fine. In fact, Lee often launches himself with the Command location in our games, just so we can get a second Viper into space.

And, like ColtsFan76, if a pilot in aviper reveals itself, we place the viper back into the reserves. This is what happens if the pilot is sent to sickbay or the brig from a crisis card or player action, so I don't see any difference for being a revealed cylon. People could argue that the cylon pilot would probably just destroy the viper, but the humans have enough going against them as it is.

JerusalemJones said:

And, like ColtsFan76, if a pilot in aviper reveals itself, we place the viper back into the reserves. This is what happens if the pilot is sent to sickbay or the brig from a crisis card or player action, so I don't see any difference for being a revealed cylon. People could argue that the cylon pilot would probably just destroy the viper, but the humans have enough going against them as it is.

I am almost used the "sickbay" argument but most times the reason they are going to sickbay is because the viper was damaged. So it is the viper moving out of space and the pilot having to find a place to go - not the other way around.

To play devil's advocate, I wouldn't argue that the now revealed Cylon can destroy the viper, but I would make an argument for him damaging it.

But I still hold to it just going back to reserves.

ColtsFan76 said:

To play devil's advocate, I wouldn't argue that the now revealed Cylon can destroy the viper, but I would make an argument for him damaging it.

There is currently exactly as much evidence of him able to damage the viper, as evidence he can in fact destroy it (i.e none).

The viper should go back to the reserves (I think Corey said something about this, but I'm not sure).

It's in the revised FAQ just posted.

Goes to the reserves

Some things in the game are simply glossed over for ease of use, while it makes sense that a person could destroy a viper on a reveal, it doesn't make much sense that they could brig somebody in a viper, or damage the FTL controls while they're in sick bay. Although I guess in an expansion it might be a new Cylon reveal card "Destroy 2 vipers or 1 raptor"