Questions on Frost Queen

By la1cajun, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hey guys, we just completed another game of talisman. We decided to use frost queen ending. Questions:

1) one person makes it to ice queen, beats ice queen first 2 rounds, 3rd round it's a tie. Does this resolve like any other combat in a draw and the player doesn't have to do a roll like if you lost the combat to ice queen?

2) another player shows up to ice queen on crown of command , with 2 players there do they have to fight each other till one dies then continue to fight ice queen? Thanks

The cajun

1) one person makes it to ice queen, beats ice queen first 2 rounds, 3rd round it's a tie. Does this resolve like any other combat in a draw and the player doesn't have to do a roll like if you lost the combat to ice queen?

Yes, it would be a stand-off. So this gives other players a chance to make it to the Crown of Command.

2) another player shows up to ice queen on crown of command , with 2 players there do they have to fight each other till one dies then continue to fight ice queen? Thanks

Page 20 of the main rulebook:

The Crown of Command
If there is already another character on the Crown of Command space when a character lands on it, the character there must be encountered. Once two (or more) characters are on the Crown, those characters’ turns consist only of encountering one of the other characters.
So, the players go back and forth on their turns battling one another until one dies or is removed from the space and is out of the game. They can then start attacking the Ice Queen with however many lives are left.

Agree on #1

But reading the Ice Queen card - A character on the Crown of Command must choose whether to attack the Ice Queen using Strength or Craft. Each time he defeats the Ice Queen he must remove one of her lives and immediately attack her again.

I read it as this overrides the rules in the book, and the characters take turns attacking the Ice Queen.

The Ice Queen was the first "boss" ending of 4th Edition and the wording here is pretty essential, though some extra information would have been useful. When in doubt, take your time and have a look at existing rules.

1) The (apparent) problem is that the Ice Queen card does not say what to do in case of a stand-off. You should follow the normal rules for stand-off then (neither side is harmed and turn immediately ends).

2) There are no instructions given for two characters on the Crown of Command. However, the rules for Alternative Ending Cards say: " When using the Alternative Ending Cards, characters on the Crown of Command must encounter the Alternative Ending Card and follow the rules printed on the card – they cannot cast the Command Spell or encounter other characters on the Crown of Command unless the Alternative Ending Card specifically states otherwise. "

Recent cards try to be as much self-contained as possible, such as the Dragon King ending where the above general rule has been repeated as an Ending specific instruction. The problem is that we all tend to play Talisman reading the rules once, because they feel quite obvious when read outside the game, but should get used to come back to them every time we feel there's a problem or a missing instruction.

Agree on #1

But reading the Ice Queen card - A character on the Crown of Command must choose whether to attack the Ice Queen using Strength or Craft. Each time he defeats the Ice Queen he must remove one of her lives and immediately attack her again.

I read it as this overrides the rules in the book, and the characters take turns attacking the Ice Queen.

The Ice Queen was the first "boss" ending of 4th Edition and the wording here is pretty essential, though some extra information would have been useful. When in doubt, take your time and have a look at existing rules.

1) The (apparent) problem is that the Ice Queen card does not say what to do in case of a stand-off. You should follow the normal rules for stand-off then (neither side is harmed and turn immediately ends).

2) There are no instructions given for two characters on the Crown of Command. However, the rules for Alternative Ending Cards say: " When using the Alternative Ending Cards, characters on the Crown of Command must encounter the Alternative Ending Card and follow the rules printed on the card – they cannot cast the Command Spell or encounter other characters on the Crown of Command unless the Alternative Ending Card specifically states otherwise. "

Recent cards try to be as much self-contained as possible, such as the Dragon King ending where the above general rule has been repeated as an Ending specific instruction. The problem is that we all tend to play Talisman reading the rules once, because they feel quite obvious when read outside the game, but should get used to come back to them every time we feel there's a problem or a missing instruction.

You are both totally correct. I was thinking about this and remembered our group had decided(house-ruled basically) that if 2 of us were on the Crown of Command, unless otherwise stated on the card, the bad guy/girl/beast would sit there and watch us kill one another before coming back into the fray. Our group is all about killing one another......