Calculating Total Craft with Brainwave

By metalzo, in Talisman Rules Questions

Apologies if this has already been addressed, but it came up in a recent play session and I want to confirm that I played it correctly.

I know that Brainwave doubles the character's "craft value," which is actually interpreted as "starting craft value." So when a character with starting craft of 3 but current craft of 5 casts brainwave his total craft is 8 right? That seems right to me, rather than simply doubling to get craft 10, but on the other hand it does seem pretty awkward to basically set aside the 2 craft gained through trophies, double the starting value to get to 6, and then adding back in the 2 additional craft. Let me know what you think, thanks!

"Craft value" means what's printed on the character sheet, yes - no modifiers.

I don't remember the exact wording of that spell but if it says "Craft value," you're right.