Transferring damage via Protect question

By Ismar, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

I did a search but couldn't find an answer to my 2 questions.

  • Guardian of Peace has 1 shield on her
  • Opponent attacks with an Assassin Droid (2 unit damage icons)
  • I block with Twi'lek Loyalist (1 damage capacity)

From page 21 of the rulebook

Unit Damage : The striking player chooses one participating enemy unit and deals an amount of damage to that unit equal to the æ strength of the striking unit.

Damage : When a card receives damage, place a number of damage tokens on it, with total value equal to the amount of damage received. When a card has a number of damage tokens with value equal to or greater than its damage capacity, it is immediately destroyed. Damage in excess of its damage capacity is ignored.

Question 1: How much damage does the Guardian receive?

  1. 1 damage, since that is all that the Twi’lek could take, even though 2 damage tokens were placed on it
  2. 2 damage, since that is the damage capacity of the Guardian and that’s how much damage was dealt to the Twi’lek

We were not sure, so we played it as 2 damage, removing the Guardian’s shield and dealing her 1 damage.

We read it as damaged, not killed, and the protect kicks in before the character dies. So if I only took 1 damage, then that leaves 1 damage on the Twi’lek still, killing it. I would need to Protect both damage to save the Twi’lek. Protect physically moves a number of damage tokens (depending on the Protecting unit's capacity), then after I'm done moving tokens we resolve damage.

Question 2: If the Guardian had died using Protect, would the Assassin Droid be able to use its Reaction ability (Reaction: After this unit destroys an enemy unit, remove 1 focus token from this unit.)? Not sure is transferring damage counts as the Droid killing the unit. I think it would. If it happened that the Assassin Droid killed both characters, would it be able to remove 2 focus tokens?

Thanks,

Don

You can move as little or as much as you want to a Protector up to their current damage capacity. Note that shields do not matter for damage capacity. So if for example the Protector has 3 max, 1 damage, you could move 2.

Question two, you can react to each kill independently from the other. So one focus twice.

Thanks for the response but I know that part. What I'm asking if there is only 1 damage to transfer since the Twi'lik only has 1 damage capacity?

There is two.

There is 2 because the damage is transferred before it is dealt. After it has been dealt, damage beyond a unit's damage capacity is ignored, but before that point it's equal to the unit damage strength of the striking unit (or otherwise defined by the damage source if not from combat icons).

Thanks.