The FAQ says the Cursed Glade and Desert instructions apply only when you encounter the space, not the character.
Does that imply that all space instructions apply only when encountering the space? And thus, at no other time?
a) When you encounter another character, instructions don't apply.
b) On opponents' turns, instructions do not apply.
e.g. You land on Cursed Glade. Encounter the space, can't use magic. But encounter the character, and you can use magic. Regardless, during your opponents' turns, you can use magic (even though you are in the Cursed Glade).