Kraznys Mo Nakloz

By HastAttack, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Challenges: If it is Summer, choose an opponent's attachment in play. Pay that attachment's printed gold cost to take control of that attachment, and attach it to a card of your choice.

Had a couple of queries occur yesterday re Kraznys

The card text actually has "Limit once per phase per attachment"

My understanding of this is per bit of carboard - so there is nothing preventing me taking control of two copies of the same non-unique attachment?

I take it that the additional text it to prevent multiple attempts to take control of an attachment if the first attempt is cancelled (or the original controller gets control back)

Yesterdays situation was also more complicated - it was a three player melee game

Player A marshalls Kraznys

Player B plays Melisandre's Favour and takes control of Kraznys

Take control of attached character.
At the end of the dominance phase, discard Melisandre's Favor from play.

During the challenge phase, Player B takes control of several attachments

I then reduce a characters strenght and use Mereneese Brothel to discard Melisandre's Favour from play ... Krazntsy returns to Player A

Can player A now take control of the same attachments that player B?

Does the limitation (once per attachment per phase) apply to each controller in turn or to any controller of Kraznys during the phase

thanks

My understanding of this is per bit of carboard - so there is nothing preventing me taking control of two copies of the same non-unique attachment?

Correct.

I take it that the additional text it to prevent multiple attempts to take control of an attachment if the first attempt is cancelled (or the original controller gets control back)

More or less. It's there to prevent to prevent to players, each with their own Kraznys, from creating an infinite loop with a 0-cost attachment.

Yesterdays situation was also more complicated - it was a three player melee game

Player A marshalls Kraznys

Player B plays Melisandre's Favour and takes control of Kraznys

Take control of attached character.

At the end of the dominance phase, discard Melisandre's Favor from play.

During the challenge phase, Player B takes control of several attachments

I then reduce a characters strenght and use Mereneese Brothel to discard Melisandre's Favour from play ... Krazntsy returns to Player A

Can player A now take control of the same attachments that player B?

Does the limitation (once per attachment per phase) apply to each controller in turn or to any controller of Kraznys during the phase

FAQ 4.22:

Limits always apply only to the player who is using the ability. For instance, if one player plays a copy of an event card with the text "limit one per phase," that player's opponent may also play his or her own copy of that event during that phase.

So the limit is applied to the player, not to the card. A new controller of Kraznys could use the ability on the same attachments as someone else from before the control change.

Thanks ktom

Does any limitation get reset each time a card changes control - regardless of previous control history?

I'm wondering what would happen if player B managed to regain control of Krazny - having moved some attachments initially and then lost control of Krazny before regaining contol of him ...

Would player B be able to take control of any attachments - including ones he may have taken control of initially and which were subsequently taken contol of by player A, after player A took control of Krazny ...

Maybe a different example might be clearer - let's use Daven Lannister ~ as his limitation lasts the whole game

Response: After you win dominance by 4 or more total STR, pay X gold to claim X power for Daven Lannister. X is the number of power currently on Daven Lannister (Limit once per game.)

I control Daven and attempt to trigger his ability - it is cancelled and as it is limit once per game, I would not normally be able to trigger his ability again (it doesn't matter whether it was cancelled or not)

Another player takes control of Daven but then I manage to get him back again

Could I attempt to trigger Daven again?

@HastAttack -

It's still one time per player, so even if control changes 20 times in the same phase(or within the same scope of the limit), the limit does not get lifted because it's still on the onus of the player.

It's probably more correct to think of the limits as "applied" to each player individually, not "reset" by a change in control.

Changing control does not wipe out the limits applied to Player A; it only allows Player B to take advantage of the abilities of the same card.

Just like exchanging Titles doesn't reset any limits on their usage, it just allows different players to use their effects.