Attachments/Conditions ??

By Seanboy21, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Hi errrrrbody!

I recently played a condition card on an opponent's character. During the game he came upon a "remove an attachment from one of your character's".

Does this mean he can remove the condition? I thought maybe since it wasn't a typical "attachment" like a weapon or STR bonus.

Thanks!

I don't know which card he came upon, but don't confuse traits (in italics) with card types (Character, attachment, location, etc).

In this case, the attachment can be removed - regardless of whether it's a condition, weapon, boon, or item. If it could only remove a certain kind of attachment, it would read like Maester Cressen's ability ( Marshalling: Kneel Maester Cressen to choose and discard a Condition attachment from play.)

Edit: replaced keyword with trait, dunno how that got in there.

Edited by -Istaril

"Condition" is not a card type. It is a trait that appears I attachment cards.

There is nothing "atypical" about a Condition attachment. It behaves like any other attachment in terms of effects that refer to the "attachment" card type. It is only special in terms of effects that refer to the trait "Condition."

It's no different than, say, something that kills a character still working on a Lord or Night's Watch.

Thanks Istaril!!!

Just an FYI, traits are actually in italics (and bold). Keywords are not. Istaril probably just mistyped it.

As he said, the italicized words just represent an additional aspect of the card. A Condition attachment is still an attachment, much like a House Tully character is still just a regular character.

Edited by mdc273