Can Sacrificial Construct save a hosted Caissa when the ICE it's on is trashed?

By mauler78, in Android: Netrunner Rules Questions

I have pulled this from the BGG forums, while it is a great resource I do not accept their rulings as the law of the game, and figured I would repost the question here.

Can Sacrificial Construct save a hosted Caissa when the ICE is trashed?

What would happen in that scenario?
1. The Caissa is unhosted and is safe and sound.
2. The Caissa dies anyway.

Currently, my feeling is that you can, based off of 2 sources, first the Golden Rule on page 5, and the new wording on "Hosting" in the FAQ. Hosting does state that you cannot prevent this trashing, but Sacrificial Construct says when trashed, since the card creates a conflict the card takes precedence over the stated rule in Hosting.

Can someone please clarify, and explain the source material they are using. Say it happens that way just because does not help.

In this case there is no conflict, the "this cannot be prevented" from the FAQ already excludes cards like Sacrificial Construct from applying to the situation.


Page 2 of the FAQ:


If a host is trashed or uninstalled, all cards, counters, and

tokens hosted on it are also trashed. This cannot be prevented.

If a host Corp card is derezzed, all cards, counters, and tokens

hosted on it remain hosted.




Page 21 of the rulebook:



Negative effects

If an effect prohibits a player from doing something, usually by

using the word “cannot,” it always takes precedence over other

effects unless another effect explicitly overrides it.